Instagram Live Video on Stories - tutorial

Instagram Live Video on Stories and Disappearing Photos

November 22, 2016 12:02 am Published by

Instagram’s newest updates were announced today: Instagram Live Video on Stories and disappearing photos and videos for groups and/or friends in direct message. With this rollout, Instagram is combining Snapchat and Periscope. Instead of overlapping with Facebook Live and Messenger, Instagram’s making video streaming and private messaging time sensitive.

Instagram Live Video on Stories

Live Video on Instagram Stories allows user to connect with friends and followers in the moment. But unlike Facebook, your live story disappears from the app so you feel more comfortable sharing anything, anytime.

Here’s how:

To go Live, you’ll swipe right from the Instagram Stories camera, tap the “Start Live Video” button and start sharing for up to an hour.

Instagram Live Video on Stories - tutorial

When you go Live your friends may get a notification when you go live so they can tune in. Instagram will show a Live tag on your Instagram Stories bubble that appears at the top of the feeds of your followers


During the broadcast viewers can comment, or tap repeatedly to like as much as they want. Streamers can hide comments or all the buttons, and they can block or report anyone who harasses them.

You can also check out new live stories on Explore, by tapping on “Top Live”. Live video on Instagram Stories and Explore will be rolling out globally over the next few weeks. Based on view count, geography, and language, Instagram will provide a curated channel you can swipe through, creating a seamless Live discovery and consumption experience.

Disappearing Photos and Videos for Groups and Friends in Direct Message

Direct Messaging already has 300 million monthly users, but all messages exchanged are permanent. Now you can send disappearing photos and videos directly to groups and friends in a pressure-free way. Whether your account is public or private, you can only send disappearing photos and videos to people who follow you.

Here’s how:

Swipe right into the camera to take a photo or video, then tap the arrow to send it privately. You can choose to send it to a group or individual friends at the same time. Recipients can watch the messages once, and replay them once, but then they’re gone. If they screenshot or replay, you’ll get a notification.  

To open your inbox, tap the new paper airplane icon at the top right corner of your feed or swipe left. You’ll see disappearing photos and videos in a bar at the top. If lots of friends contribute to one of the group conversations, the thread becomes a collaborative Story slideshow you can tap through.

The dual Direct Messaging inbox is a little complicated, but both expiring and permanent messaging makes sense.

Instagram gives creators total control over their audience. No one can snoop on this content without you knowing. You now have the freedom to be yourself by choosing who you be yourself around, without the fear that your co-worker or a family member might see. This rollout will happen in the next two weeks and is available for iOS and Android.

We’re sure that soon enough you’ll be able to go Live in a private group… Until then check out Kickstagram’s Blog  with all the latest Instagram marketing tips, features, etc..

Comments are closed here.